Virginia Dealership Taxes & Fees
When making a vehicle purchase, you will typically see a disclaimer that “taxes, title and fees are extra”. This is done because the vehicle will be taxed in the state where it is registered, not the state where it is purchased. Because many states have different tax rates and other unique fees, it would be difficult to give an exact price until the buyer reveals which state they will title the vehicle. Most of Checkered Flag’s customers are from the Commonwealth of Virginia but we do have many from North Carolina, Maryland and other areas. To avoid confusion and not mislead, we have chosen to disclaim these fees. Below you will find the tax rates for Virginia. The dealer is required by the state to collect and remit the tax at the time of purchase. Please contact us at (757) 490-1111, if you need additional information.
Virginia Vehicle Purchase:
- 4.15% State Tax
- 2/10% Gross Receipts Tax
Virginia DMV Fees:
- $40.75 for new license plates – vehicles under 4,000 lbs.
- $45.75 for new license plates – vehicles over 4,000 lbs.
- $10.00 for a title
- $10.00 for electronic filing
A $599 processing fee is charged to aid in your protection and the dealership’s costs in helping to secure things on your behalf. To learn more about processing fees, click on the links below.
The posted fees may change without notification, so please contact your Checkered Flag representative for exact “out the door” pricing.